Board of Directors

President: David Paul, Retired school administrator. Prior board service includes Council for Exceptional Children (30 Years – Current), Washington State Special Education Coalition (3 Years – Current), Maritime Heritage Foundation (Seattle) (6 Years).

Secretary: Mary Soltman, Retired, Dean of Humanities and Communications at South Puget Sound Community College

Treasurer: Candace Wood, CPA/MBA Business owner (Back Office Services)  former Chief Financial Officer for Community Youth Services, artist, fan of craft beer and the great outdoors

Carter Hick, Attorney 

Mary Linders, Washington Dept. of Fish and Wildlife, supporter of traditional music

Willie Smyth Retired Washington State Folklorist


Executive Director: Stacey Waterman-Hoey
left a career of 18 years in energy and climate policy to focus on developing this school.  She is motivated by a desire to create more opportunities to have fun and build community while learning the skills that sustained the Pacific Northwest for many generations.

Pamela Davis, Program Administrator

Ivy Ayers, Administrative Manager

© Arbutus Folk School